Steering Committee

There are many faculty members, staff and students at UBC who are from or work in the Himalayan region. At present, our Steering Committee includes:

IMG_2931

Katherine Hacker

Assistant Professor (Emerita)
Department of Art History, Visual Art & Theory

Himalaya Program Curricula Development Coordinator

Email: katherine.hacker@ubc.ca

Website

Dagmar Schwerk

Khyentse Foundation Postdoctoral Fellow in Tibetan Buddhist Studies

Himalaya Program Buddhist Communities Liaison

Email: dagmar.schwerk@ubc.ca

Website

shakya

Tsering Shakya

Associate Professor, Department of Asian Studies / School of Public Policy & Global Affairs and Institute of Asian Research
Canada Research Chair in Religion and Contemporary Society in Asia

Himalaya Program Speaker Series & Language Program Coordinator
Himalaya Program Tibetan Community Liaison

Email: tshakya@mail.ubc.ca

Website

Sara Shneiderman

Associate Professor, Anthropology / School of Public Policy & Global Affairs and Institute of Asian Research

Himalaya Program Research & Outreach Coordinator

Email: sara.shneiderman@ubc.ca

Website

Ratna Shrestha

Lecturer, Vancouver School of Economics

Himalaya Program Nepali Community Liaison

Email: Ratna.Shrestha@ubc.ca

Website

Mark Turin

Associate Professor, Linguistic Anthropology
First Nations and Endangered Languages Program
Institute for Critical Indigenous Studies

Himalaya Program Advisor & Strategist

Email: mark.turin@ubc.ca

Website

Patrick Dowd

PhD Student, Anthropology

Graduate Student Coordinator

Email: patrickjdowd@alumni.ubc.ca

 

Taylor Sacré

BSc Global Resource Systems

Himalaya Program Assistant

Email: himalaya.arts@ubc.ca