Faculty & Staff

 

CA headshot 2016

Carol Ann Courneya

Associate Professor, Assistant Dean of Student Affairs, Faculty of Medicine

Email: courneya@mail.ubc.ca

Phone: 604-822-8245

Website

Cathryn Ellis

Senior Instructor, UBC Midwifery Program and PhD Candidate, SFU Global Health

Email: cathy.ellis@ubc.ca

Phone: 604-822-0352

Website

Marc Foggin_1

J Marc Foggin

Honorary Research Associate at the Insitute of Asian Research, UBC

Email: marc.foggin@ucentralasia.org; marc.foggin@gmail.com

Website

Michael J. Griffin

Assistant Professor, Classics and Philosophy

Email: michael.griffin@ubc.ca

Website

Katherine Hacker

Assistant Professor (Emerita)
Department of Art History, Visual Art & Theory
Himalaya Program Curricula Development Coordinator

        Email: katherine.hacker@ubc.ca

Website

2014-06-09 16.25.59 copy visa(1)

Videsh Kapoor

Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Family Practice
Director, Division of Global Health, Department of Family Practice
Global Health Theme Leader, UBC Medical Undergraduate Medical Program, Faculty of Medicine
Co-Founder, UBC Global Health Initiative

Website

cropped-Anne-Murphy-Profile2

Anne Murphy

Associate Professor, Punjabi Language, Literature and Sikh Studies

Email: anne.murphy@ubc.ca

Phone: 604-822-5185

Website

Fuyubi Nakamura

Curator, Asia, Museum of Anthropology and Associate Member of the Departments of Anthropology and Asian Studies

 Email: fuyubi.nakamura@ubc.ca 

Website

Doug Ober

PhD Candidate, Department of Asian Studies, UBC

Email: douglasober.ubc@gmail.com

Gunilla Oberg

Professor, IRES. Director, First-year Seminar in Science

Email: goberg@ires.ubc.ca

Website

DSC_0124

Kapil Dev Regmi

Lecturer, Department of Educational Studies, UBC

Email: kapil.regmi@alumni.ubc.ca

Website

Jean-Francois (Mickey) Rostoker

BA, MD, CCFP, FCFP, Associate Clinical Professor/Family Practice/University of British Columbia/Vancouver/Canada
Assistant Clinical Professor/Family Medicine/University of Saskatchewan/Regina/Canada

Email: mrostoker@gmail.com

Phone: 306-539-9380

Adheesh Sathaye

Associate Professor, Sanskrit Literature and South Asian Folklore 

Email: adheesh.sathaye@ubc.ca

Phone: 604 822 5188

Website

Dagmar Schwerk 

Khyentse Foundation Postdoctoral Fellow in Tibetan Studies
Himalaya Program Buddhist Communities Liaison

        Email: dagmar.schwerk@ubc.ca 

Website

Tsering Shakya 

Associate Professor, Institute of Asian Research
Canada Research Chair in Religion and Contemporary Society in Asia
Himalaya Program Speaker Series & Language Program Coordinator
Himalaya Program Tibetan Community Liaison 

        Email: tshakya@mail.ubc.ca

Website

Sara Shneiderman 

Associate Professor, Socio-Cultural Anthropology
School of Public Policy and Global Affairs/Institute of Asian Research
Himalaya Program Research & Outreach Coordinator 

Email: sara.shneiderman@ubc.ca

Website

Ratna Shrestha

Lecturer, Vancouver School of Economics
Himalaya Program Nepali Community Liaison 

Email: Ratna.Shrestha@ubc.ca

Website

Mark Turin 

Associate Professor, Linguistic Anthropology
First Nations and Endangered Languages Program
Institute for Critical Indigenous Studies
Himalaya Program Advisor & Strategist 

        Email: mark.turin@ubc.ca

Website

 

Ben Wood

Affiliated Faculty, Asian Studies

Email: benjaminwood@langara.ca