Faculty & Staff

 

 

Joli Rumi Borah

Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Department of Forestry and Conservation Sciences, Faculty of Forestry, UBC

Email: joli.borah@ubc.ca

CA headshot 2016

Carol Ann Courneya

Associate Professor, Assistant Dean of Student Affairs, Faculty of Medicine, UBC

Email: courneya@mail.ubc.ca

Phone: 604-822-8245

Website

Jessica DiCarlo

Postdoctoral Fellow, School of Public Policy and Global Affairs, UBC

Twitter: @jessicamdicarlo

Website

Cathryn Ellis

Associate Professor of Teaching, UBC Midwifery Program and PhD Candidate, SFU Global Health

Email: cathy.ellis@ubc.ca

Phone: 604-822-0352

Website

Marc Foggin_1

J Marc Foggin

Honorary Research Associate at the Institute of Asian Research, UBC

Email: marc.foggin@ubc.ca; marc.foggin@gmail.com

Website

Michael J. Griffin

Assistant Professor, Classics and Philosophy, UBC

Email: michael.griffin@ubc.ca

Website

Katherine Hacker

Assistant Professor (Emerita), Department of Art History, Visual Art & Theory, UBC
Himalaya Program Curricula Development Coordinator

        Email: katherine.hacker@ubc.ca

Website

Nina Hewitt

Assistant Professor of Teaching, Department of Geography, UBC

Email: nina.hewitt@ubc.ca

Phone: 604-822-9178

Website

2014-06-09 16.25.59 copy visa(1)

Videsh Kapoor

Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Family Practice
Director, Division of Global Health, Department of Family Practice
Global Health Theme Leader, UBC Medical Undergraduate Medical Program, Faculty of Medicine
Co-Founder, UBC Global Health Initiative

Website

Elsie Lewison

Postdoctoral Fellow, School of Public Policy and Global Affairs, UBC

Email: elsie.lewison@ubc.ca

Website

cropped-Anne-Murphy-Profile2

Anne Murphy

Associate Professor, Department of Asian Studies, UBC

Punjabi Language, Literature and Sikh Studies

Email: anne.murphy@ubc.ca

Phone: 604-822-5185

Website

Fuyubi Nakamura

Assistant Professor, Department of Asian Studies, UBC;

Curator, Asia, Museum of Anthropology, UBC;

Associate Member of the Department of Anthropology, UBC

 Email: fuyubi.nakamura@ubc.ca 

Website

Doug Ober

Research Associate, Centre for India & South Asia Research (CISAR), UBC

Email: douglasober.ubc@gmail.com

Drona Rasali

Adjunct Professor, School of Population and Public Health (SPPH)

Email: drona.rasali@bccdc.ca

Website

Jean-Francois (Mickey) Rostoker

BA, MD, CCFP, FCFP, Associate Clinical Professor, Family Practice, UBC
Assistant Professor, Family Medicine, University of Saskatchewan

Email: mrostoker@gmail.com

Phone: 306-539-9380

Adheesh Sathaye

Associate Professor, Sanskrit Literature and South Asian Folklore, UBC

Email: adheesh.sathaye@ubc.ca

Phone: 604 822 5188

Website

Dagmar Schwerk 

Khyentse Foundation Postdoctoral Fellow in Tibetan Studies, Department of Asian Studies, UBC
Himalaya Program Buddhist Communities Liaison

        Email: dagmar.schwerk@ubc.ca 

Website

Twitter

Tsering Shakya 

Associate Professor, Institute of Asian Research, UBC
Canada Research Chair in Religion and Contemporary Society in Asia
Himalaya Program Speaker Series & Language Program Coordinator
Himalaya Program Tibetan Community Liaison 

        Email: tshakya@mail.ubc.ca

Website

Pasang Yangjee Sherpa

Assistant Professor (starting January 2022)

First Nations and Endangered Languages Program, Institute for Critical Indigenous Studies

The Department of Asian Studies, UBC
 

        Email: TBD

Sara Shneiderman 

Associate Professor, Socio-Cultural Anthropology, UBC
School of Public Policy and Global Affairs/Institute of Asian Research
Himalaya Program Research & Outreach Coordinator 

Email: sara.shneiderman@ubc.ca

Website

Ratna Shrestha

Lecturer, Vancouver School of Economics, UBC
Himalaya Program Nepali Community Liaison 

Email: Ratna.Shrestha@ubc.ca

Website

Alex Trisoglio

Adjunct Professor (Leadership and Mindfulness), UBC Sauder School of Business

Email: alex.trisoglio@sauder.ubc.ca

Mark Turin 

Associate Professor, Linguistic Anthropology, UBC
First Nations and Endangered Languages Program
Institute for Critical Indigenous Studies
Himalaya Program Advisor & Strategist 

        Email: mark.turin@ubc.ca

Website

 

Ben Wood

Affiliated Faculty, Department of Asian Studies, UBC

Email: benjaminwood@langara.ca